#RWRunstreak

On Thanksgiving I decided to participate in the Runner’s World Run Streak Challenge: run everyday between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day. With a treadmill in the basement, there can be no excuses. Everything was smooth sailing until yesterday: I overslept, was out of the house all morning, headachy and tired mid-afternoon, at my daughter’s school selling pizza all evening, and solo parenting for bedtime and son’s homework. In what I hope is a new way of being for me, I accepted the reality of the choppy sea, and completed my run walk anyway.

Not coincidentally yesterday I talked to my 12 yr old son about the challenge and that I had been going strong since the beginning. He was super encouraging, and when we came home from the school he reminded me that I needed to go downstairs. This was a HUGE motivator! I also let my 3 yr old stay up 30 minutes later so I could run walk. The world will not end because she went to bed at 9:30. 

Leave a Reply

