#GoTheDist2012 Recap

Last year this time, I set out to run/walk 650 miles. I had no idea how I would do it, but I stepped out of my comfort zone and made it public. I didn’t have a plan or a goal for the miles; I just wanted to complete them.

AND I DID! My final tally for 2012 is 680 miles!!!!!!!

WHY I DID: Getting the treadmill was a HUGE reason I was able to meet my goal. I lost any and all excuses for why I couldn’t exercise. Now, there were plenty of days when I ignored the treadmill and listened to the negative narrative in my head, but overall the treadmill was a godsend! The spreadsheet was another major factor in my success. Watching the percentages and playing the numbers game with my goals was a definite motivator. After a miserable Q3, and vague rumblings about quitting/giving up, I looked at the numbers and realized I could still do it, that the losses in Q3 could be offset by my kicka$$ Q1 & Q2, and just staying the course for Q4. 

WHAT WAS MISSING: What was missing from my successful completion of miles was a plan for them. I didn’t train for anything. I didn’t have any particular goal that completing the miles would help me accomplish. This was a problem because it meant that sometimes I just phoned it in to get them done.Actually, since Thanksgiving, I did have a goal and a plan: The Runner’s World Run Streak. I ran/walked at least one mile every day between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve (today). I did feel more motivation to get my work in because it was part of a bigger plan.

WHAT COMES NEXT: stay tuned….

Leave a Reply

