Race Recap–Belle Isle 5K

New Years Eve Fun Run

 

Time: 44:01

Very disappointing. I wanted a sub-40:00 finish, but it was not to be.

Weather: 30 degrees, cloudy, dry sky

Course: Belle Isle, Detroit

The course was AWFUL! It was not plowed. It was snowy, slushy, icy. I (and many other runners) thought it would be plowed since we were running on the street. I was unable to enjoy the view of the river or Canada because I was too busy making sure I didn’t enjoy a hospital visit on NYE.

Thoughts/Feelings/Emotions:

This was by far the worst race I have ever run. The conditions of the course meant that I never found a suitable pace or rhythm. I was unable to run the whole thing because bracing myself and balancing on the snow/slush/ice was hurt and I needed walk breaks to recover. Then, I couldn’t time/pace my walk breaks efficiently because they needed to be in response to the road conditions.

I ran hard for a few intervals, and felt really good. Like I could have kept going if I wasn’t preoccupied with not falling and ruining my Running Year!

The one thing I did much better this year was not comparing myself to other runners. I am where I am, and I’m getting where I want to be.

Where do I go from here?:

Incorporate more outdoor running into my schedule. During the winter, that will be once a week. I have to gain confidence and skills for racing in less than optimal conditions. In spring, summer, and fall, I will bump up to twice a week (schedules and life permitting).

What’s next:

Race #2 is tomorrow, January 1. I’m running the Resolution Fun Run:

This will be an easy treadmill run. I’m sure I’ll still be sore from today’s race.

My resolution is to complete the two running challenges I’ve signed up for, seeing measurable progress with each passing race.

Leave a Reply

